FSCJ Announces Officers and Welcomes New Board of Trustees Member

August 10, 2021

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Florida State College at Jacksonville (FSCJ) District Board of Trustees elected new officers and welcomed a new Board member at the August 10, 2021 Board meeting for the 2021-22 year.

Mike Bell

Trustee Michael Bell was elected to serve as Board chair. Trustee Bell was appointed to the Board in August 2017 and has served as the vice chair for Nassau County since August 2019.

Trustee Wayne Young was elected as vice chair for Duval County. Trustee Young was originally appointed to the District Board of Trustees in February 2018 and has held several positions during his time on the Board, including Board vice chair, member and committee chair of the Board Finance and Audit committee, and has previously served on the Board of the FSCJ Foundation.

Trustee Laura DiBella was elected as vice chair for Nassau County. Trustee DiBella was appointed to the District Board of Trustees in March 2018 and has recently served on the Board Finance and Audit committee.

“These members have been a tremendous asset to the FSCJ District Board of Trustees and we are looking forward to partnering with them in these new roles to continue the College’s mission in making education available and accessible to everyone in our community,” said FSCJ President Dr. John Avendano.

FSCJ’s District Board of Trustees also welcomed Andrew Shaw, M.D. as its newest Board member representing Duval County, appointed by Governor Scott for a term beginning July 12, 2021 through May 31, 2025.

Dr. Shaw is a Medical Doctor and Neurosurgeon with Lyerly Neurosurgery at Baptist Health. Previously, he practiced at Ocala Health Neurosurgery and Ohio State University Medical Center. Shaw is a member of the American Board of Neurological Surgery, American Association of Neurological Surgeons and the National Association of Spine Surgeons. He completed his doctor of medicine, fellowship and residency at the Ohio State University College of Medicine.

“We are excited to welcome Dr. Shaw as a new District Board of Trustees member to work alongside our other members of the Board to help guide our institution,” said FSCJ President Dr. John Avendano. “Dr. Shaw will be a tremendous asset to add to our team of committed, talented individuals who help ensure FSCJ is reaching and exceeding our goals as an institution. His involvement in the health care industry will help continue to connect the College with leaders in our community.”

Dr. Shaw succeeds Thomas Majdanics who served as a Trustee from June 1, 2013 – July 12, 2021. The appointment is subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.

Also serving on the Board and representing Duval County are Mr. Thomas McGehee, Jr, Dr. Jennifer Brown, Ms. Shantel Davis and Mr. Hunt Hawkins. Also representing Nassau County is Mr. Roderick Odom.

About FSCJ
Known as “the community’s college,” Florida State College at Jacksonville (FSCJ) exists to provide valuable, high-quality learning opportunities to anyone with the desire to enhance themselves through the pursuit of higher education. Serving more than 45,000 students and awarding nearly 7,000 degrees and certificates on an annual basis, the College plays a significant role in supplying the region’s employers with a highly skilled, educated workforce.