Fernandina Beach High School Class of 2017 – National Merit, Advanced Placement, and Department Awards

Sharing is caring!

May 8, 2017 8:36 p.m.

Editor’s Note: This is the second in a series of photographs taken during the Fernandina Beach High School Senior Awards Ceremony. Since some photos did not turn out well, we encourage anyone with a better picture to send it to [email protected] We congratulate all of the graduating seniors for their many accomplishments.

We regret that we do not have photos of two students who were nominated by teachers to receive $1,000 awards from an anonymous donor.  Joseph Helm received an award for Top Wrestler,  and  Lauren Kilburn for Top Math/Science Student.

National Merit and Advanced Placement Awards

National Merit Finalist Gabrielle Bayacal, Jessica Clark, and Scott Wardrop receive awards.  These three students also received  the Moody’s Mega Math Challenge Award.
National Merit Commended Scholars, Lauren Kilburn, Tressa Glackin, and Olivia Ballard.

Advanced Placement Scholars with Distinction by maintaining an average score of 3.5 on all AP Exams or scores of 3 or higher on 5 or more exams. Scott Wardrop, Brendan Twiggs, Lauren Kilburn, Sarah Stone, Alora Richardson, Kristin Plews,  Olivia Ballard, Abby Bayacal, Jessica Clark, Rachel Sheppard (not pictured) and Bethy Spillane.
Advanced Placement Scholars are Seth Keeling, Katie Cunningham, Andrew Gibbs, Coby Hancock, Tressa Glackin, Lauren Chambers, Sky Brooker, Chloe Clay, Matt Brown, and Calvin Collins.
Emily Bencal, Bryce
Ocepek, and Tom Mallory, qualified for Advanced Placement Scholars with Honors.

Department Awards

Dr. Lodree presents Future Business Leaders of America and Career Tech Dept Awards to Emily Adkins, Josh Sheffield, and Montana Walker.
Senior Band Members Jessica Clark, Phoebe Sernaker, Macy Waters, Brendan Twiggs, Graham Croft, Allie Burrows and Juan Rodriguez.
Nursing Students receive green cords for attaining the highest achievement in medicine at the high school level. Yarixza Tapia, Allie Burrows, Katie Rojas, Destiny Conwell, Nicole Myers, Axel Soto-Diaz, Shanaya Thompson, Samantha Reyes, Meghan Lendry, Kayla Duggan, Bradley Loum, Faith DuBose, and Maggie Mathews.
Cole Hancock receives the Ted R. Steger Memorial Physics Award.
Coach Rowland announced numerous Athletic Scholarships and/or Awards.  Recipients include:   Faith Leipau, Lindsey Delille, Brandon Twiggs, Ty Herring, Maggie Mathews, Kayla Duggan, Carter Chancey, Emily Holmes, Amber Teeters, Katie Rojas, Antonio Vendola, Noah French.
Jessica Clark, Chloe Clay, Laura Long, and Lauren Kilburn are recognized by Dr. Lodree (L) for Achievement in Advanced Placement English Literature.


Excellence in Gifted Humanities presented to Jessica Clark, Tyler Hargis, Brendan Twiggs, and Scott Wardrop. Not pictured are Alora Richardson and Carson Vanbeek.
Assistant Principal Chris Webber presents President’s Volunteer Service Award goes to Scott Wardrop
Junior Marshalls/Ushers were named based on a weighted GPA. Pictured are Dr. Lodree (L), Tripp Vonnah, Martin Tolxdorf, Maya Hernandez, Courtney Gill, Katherine Doss, Carly Beverly, Samantha Maltagliati, Josie Kilburn.  Not pictured Maddie Mott.
Related Story:  Sliders Seaside Grill earns 2013 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fernandina Beach High School Class of 2017 – National Merit, Advanced Placement, and Department Awards

  1. Mrs. D. Hunter says:

    STANDING OVATION for all these hard-working honorees, their families and their teachers. And thank you to the Fernandina Observer for giving ample space so that we can salute these kids as they deserve to be saluted. We in this town are so proud of you!

Comments are closed.