Baptist Medical Center Nassau receives an ‘A’ Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade

Baptist Medical Center Nassau
Press Release
May 16, 2019 9:30 a.m.

Baptist Nassau is one of only 832 hospitals in U.S. to receive highest grade
Fernandina Beach, Fla., May 15, 2019 — Baptist Medical Center Nassau received an “A” for patient safety, the highest grade, in the spring 2019 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades. This the third consecutive time Baptist Nassau received the designation, which recognizes the hospital’s efforts in protecting patients from harm and meeting the highest safety standards.
The Leapfrog Group, a Washington, D.C.-based organization aiming to improve health care quality and safety for consumers and purchasers, released the new Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades today. Only 32 % of graded hospitals in the nation were awarded an “A” for their commitment to health care quality and safety.

“Our ‘A’ rating shows our strong commitment to patient safety and providing the highest level of quality medical care possible. From the time we opened our doors 25 years ago, our team has treated patients as they would their own family members,” said Hospital President Ed Hubel, FACHE. “It is because of our dedicated team that we received our ‘A’ rating and our goal is to continue to perform at the highest level at all times.”

Baptist Medical Center Jacksonville and Baptist Medical Center Beaches also received an “A” grade.

“Our health care teams are dedicated to following strict safety and quality protocols at every step throughout the patient’s journey,” said David Rice, MD, senior vice president and chief quality officer of Baptist Health. “We emphasize and cultivate a culture of safety every single day.”

The Safety Grade assigns an A, B, C, D or F grade to hospitals across the country based on their performance in preventing medical errors, infections and other harms among patients in their care. Developed under the guidance of a National Expert Panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. hospitals twice per year. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent to the public.

“To be recognized nationally as an ‘A’ hospital is an accomplishment the whole community should take pride in,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “Hospitals that earn an ‘A’ grade are making it a priority to protect patients from preventable medical harm and error. We congratulate hospital leaders, board members, staff, volunteers and clinicians who work so hard to earn this A.”

In addition to the Leapfrog grade, Baptist Nassau also received a Press Ganey award for being among the top 5 percent of U.S. hospitals for patient satisfaction.

To see Baptist Health’s full Leapfrog grade or to learn more, visit

About Baptist Health

Baptist Health is a faith-based, mission-driven system in Northeast Florida comprised of Baptist Medical Center Jacksonville; Baptist Medical Center Beaches; Baptist Medical Center Nassau; Baptist Medical Center South; Baptist Clay Medical Campus and Wolfson Children’s Hospital – the region’s only children’s hospital. All Baptist Health hospitals, along with Baptist Home Health Care, have achieved Magnet™ status for excellence in patient care. Baptist Health is part of Coastal Community Health, a highly integrated regional hospital network focused on significant initiatives designed to enhance the quality and value of care provided to our contiguous communities. Baptist Health has the area’s only dedicated heart hospital; orthopedic institute; women’s services; neurological institute, including comprehensive neurosurgical services, a comprehensive stroke center and two primary stroke centers; a Bariatric Center of Excellence; a full range of psychology and psychiatry services; urgent care services; and primary and specialty care physicians’ offices throughout Northeast Florida. The Baptist MD Anderson Cancer Center is a regional destination for multidisciplinary cancer care which is clinically integrated with the MD Anderson Cancer Center, the internationally renowned cancer treatment and research institution in Houston. For more details, visit

About the Hospital Safety Grade
As the only independent ratings program that focuses exclusively on how effectively hospitals keep their patients safe, the Hospital Safety Grade is the gold standard measure of patient safety. Each A, B, C, D, or F grade includes 28 measures, all currently in use by national measurement and reporting programs, and rates how well the hospital protects patients from errors, injuries and infections. Patients and families more than ever turn to the Hospital Safety Grade to make their healthcare decisions. For more information, visit

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.