Submitted by Suanne Z. Thamm
Reporter – News Analyst
March 21, 2015 9:34 a.m.

As a public service for those Fernandina Observer readers who are following actions of the Florida Legislature with respect to changing the charter of the Ocean Highway and Port Authority, the next committee meeting schedule is listed below:

 

HB1201

The Government Operations Subcommittee hearing will encompass many matters, as you can see from the notice, but the order is subject to change.  The subcommittee will convene as noted at 8:00 am on Tuesday March 24th in Webster Hall (Knott 212) in the Senate Building. You may track this bill online:

http://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/MyHouse/login.aspx

The Government Operations Subcommittee considers matters related to state agency governance, including organization and structure, operating procedures and staffing, oversight and accountability, public records and open meetings, collective bargaining and impasse, state and local public employee retirement and pensions, and election.

The subcommittee’s oversight responsibilities cover the Agency for Enterprise Information Technology, the Department of Management Services, the Department of the Lottery, the State Board of Administration, the Division of Elections within the Department of State, and the Florida Elections Commission. In addition, the subcommittee assists with initiatives designed to evaluate agency spending and delivery of services.

Representative Bileca Chair

Representative Santiago Vice Chair

Democratic Ranking Member: Representative Narain

Representatives: Brodeur, J. Cortes, Fant, Ingoglia, O’Toole, Rader, K. Roberson, Smith, Taylor, Workman

Mike Harrison advises that names in regular script are Republican; those in italic are Democrat.

Suanne Thamm 4Editor’s Note: Suanne Z. Thamm is a native of Chautauqua County, NY, who moved to Fernandina Beach from Alexandria,VA, in 1994. As a long time city resident and city watcher, she provides interesting insight into the many issues that impact our city. We are grateful for Suanne’s many contributions to the Fernandina Observer.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Mike Harrison
Mike Harrison (@guest_31023)
7 years ago

To e-mail the Government Operations Subcommittee today (March 23), cut and paste the following into your e-mail ‘TO:’ box …

‘Michael.Bileca@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘David.Santiago@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Edwin.Narain@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Jason.Brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘John.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Blaise.Ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Marlene.OToole@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Kevin.Rader@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Jimmie.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Dwayne.Taylor@myfloridahouse.gov’; ‘Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov’

Please copy to Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov

Thanks.

Mike

Mike Harrison
Mike Harrison (@guest_31155)
7 years ago

Updating on March 24th, the Government Operations Subcommittee voted favorably on HB 1201 despite e-mails opposing it. I spoke against it in Tallahassee today.

Rep. Adkins re-stated that she is in favor of partisan elections because they aid transparency; they tell the voter something of the ‘principles and values’ of the candidates.

There is one more chance to quash the bill in the Local and Federal Affairs Committee. I’ll post again when that meeting has been scheduled.

Thanks to everyone who wrote for their support.

Mike

2
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x