Submitted by Susan Hardee StegerChamber Seal

On the last day to qualify for a seat on the Fernandina Beach City Commission, no new candidates came forward to have their names placed on the ballot for the upcoming election. David B. Austin, Andrew Curtin, Johnny Miller, and Lynn Williams will seek the Group 1 seat currently held by Commissioner Arlene Filkoff.

Mayor 1Vying for mayor of the city will be Mayor Sarah Pelican and Commissioner Edward Boner.  Current Vice Mayor Charlie Corbett along with Commissioner Pat Gass declined to be considered for the position.

Although the vote for mayor is a  nonbinding straw poll the results can be overturned by the commission.  Historically the second place finisher becomes the vice mayor.  In last year’s election, commissioners failed to consider the peoples’ choice, second place finisher Commissioner Arlene Filkoff, for the vice mayor position and elected current Vice Mayor Charlie Corbett.

The Fernandina Observer will host a candidate forum on October 22 at 7:00 p.m. in the commission chambers.  The forum will be aired on the public access channel and available through live steaming.  Candidates for city commission will be invited to attend.  Larry Myers will serve as moderator.

October 8, 2013 1:00 a.m.

Share this story!

Notify of
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x